Pain specifically in one tooth even on medication

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hey everyone! I was just diagnosed with TN six days ago. I just had my medication (gabapentin) increased from 100mg once a day to 300mg twice a day because the pain was so bad. Now the pain is much more manageable with only a slight tingle or ache on occasion with the exception of one tooth. I had gone to the dentist before getting diagnosed with TN, and they said I could have a "potential" infection in one of my molars on the side that I get my TN pain. They shaved it a little bit to "relieve my bite" since I have an open bite. Now that tooth hurts even with medication, but the pain level is not consistent. Should I head back to the dentist or does this sound like TN pain? It is most sensitive when I eat (hot and cold) or if I press it gently with my tongue. I'm new to all of this so I'm not sure how to tell the difference between normal tooth pain and TN just yet.

Thanks!

2 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Erin, I would say do not go back to the dentist!  I have heard story after story of dentists doing procedures on people (including me) not realizing the pain comes from TN not a tooth problem.  Unfortunately these dental procedures only make things worse.  Your pain sounds a lot like mine when I first got TN.  I also made the mistake of thinking it was dental because it seems like it is but it was not.  I am glad you are on Gabapentin. You can always increase the dose but I would advise you to stay away from the dentist.  Good luck!
    • Posted

Hello Windy! Thank you for replying smile Any suggestions on what to do to manage the pain in just that tooth? And have you learned a way to differentiate between actual tooth pain and TN?
    • Posted