plantar fasciitis and gastrocnemius recession - My experience + Surgery

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi All,

There's so much discussion about plantar fasciitis that I thought I would add my opinion.

I dealt with the pain in both feet for two year - shoes - inserts etc.  As a martial artist I tried to stretch over and over again. I was in pain all day long, but mornings was the worst. I took a trip to Washington DC in October 2017 and that was the clincher.

Finally in October 2017,  I sought treatment.  I had the shots and physical therapy.  By January 2018 i was mostly pain free.  Despite the constant stretching and karate, in March 2018, the pain was back with a vengeance in my right foot. 

Back to the doctor for another shot, but the Dr. ordered an MRI instead.  The weekend before the appt to review the test, i started having pain in my Achilles tendon.  The MRI showed multiple tears in the plantar fasciitis and surgery was scheduled.  Because of the new pain in the Achilles tendon, we decided to do the gastroncnemius procedure as well.

Like most people i read everything on the procedure and was beginning to have  doubts.  The problem with the net is everyone is always willing to post negative comments and the success stories not so much.

I had the procedure on April 15, 2018.  I was in the surgery center for only a few hours.  I think the procedures took less than 20-25 minutes.  I was sent home in a walking boot with crutches.

Day 1 - I have a very high tolerance for pain - probably because of the karate.  I took one Oxycontin as the gastrocnemius was causing the most pain.  the plantar faciitisomy  was barely noticeable. Lots of ice and Motrin

Day 2 - I took another Oxycontin and lot's of Motrin and icing.

Day 3 - 10  I stopped the Oxycontin and kept up with the Icing and Motrin.  By day 10 I no longer needed both crutches.  One was fine.  I progressively, as recommended by the Dr, increased the weight on my foot.