PMR beginers dosage

Posted , 15 users are following.

Hi, all I'm new to this I have just been diagnosed with PMR, my doctor has prescibed a 30mg a day, from what I have read it seems a very high dose to start on, any advice please  

0 likes, 37 replies

37 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Is this your trial period with pred, to see if it works, or have you already had the trial?  A week on pred, usually at a slightly lower dose, say 15 or 20, sometimes less, is often the major diagnostic tool because PMR is one of very few ailments which will respond quickly to these lower doses.  You could ask your physician why s/he thinks 30 is appropriate for you.
  • Posted

Have you high blood markers?  Mine were ESR 132 and CRP 100+ so my doctor put me straight on 30mg to 'zap' the PMR.  It did within 6 hours.  Unfortunately after a few weeks the blood markers started rising and rising so the doctor put me up to 40mg.

This is not usual in PMR and many start on 15 to 20mg and are quite happy with the result.  All of us are different.

It also depends where you live.  In America and Canada the doctors usually start new PMRers on low levels of Pred.  See how you go and listen to your body.

• Posted

I was started on 15 and was completely pain free within three days, although I felt some relief within hours!  I have been taking pred for a little over two years and have had a steady taper to, currently, 1.5mg.
    • Posted

And I started on 15mg and was 80% pain-free and toally mobile in under 6 hours!
    • Posted

CRP, Constance, that is high! The only indicator that pointed to something severely wrong was the CRP level. Mine was 76 and GCA was diagnosed. After three weeks of prednisone, it dropped to 4.

Now it has 'stabilised' to 7.

• Posted