PMR beginers dosage

Posted , 15 users are following.

Hi, all I'm new to this I have just been diagnosed with PMR, my doctor has prescibed a 30mg a day, from what I have read it seems a very high dose to start on, any advice please  

0 likes, 37 replies

37 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

As many have said, it varies by each individual.  I started on Pred at 20 mg 9 months ago but have flared up twice when I've gotten down to 15 mg.  The 2nd time the PMR flared up I had to go to 30 mg to get to a painless starting point again.  Currently at 20 mg and the dropping in a week to 17-1/2.  After that will be dropping veryyyyy slowly so I hopefully don't flare up.  In the meantime, side effects are tolerable and I'm still able to do my physical work at about 90% of what I've done in the past.  I am so thankful for Prednisone!

• Posted

Hi TheRaven, when reducing did you reduce by more than 10%? Like your next reduction is 2.5 mg which is greater than 10%. I am at 20 mg also, but reducing to 18 using DSNS.
    • Posted

Michdonn, yes the reductions so far are more than 10%.  I have read that reducing more than 10% isn't as much of an issue until you get down around the 15 mg range which was my previous experience.  Both flares happened when I was directed to drop from 20 to 15.  I figure the 17.5 is very close to 10% so I'm willing to take a shot at it.  Then I have to hold at that level until my September appointment with my new rheumy (current one is moving - darn).  Hopefully he'll agree to keeping the reductions to 10% or less.  If not, I'm just going to do my own reduction schedule.  I'm still able to handle with the physical work load but will admit that fatigue catches up to me at the end of the day.  The recliner chair is often the "sleep chair" about 8 pm.

• Posted