Post recovery .... People with plates and screws.

Posted , 77 users are following.

Does anyone with plates and screws ever feel like they are pinching or biting your ankle?   I get these sharp bites feeling a couple times a day.   Pushing on it helps.   I am almost 2 years post injury.  

Also so still swells really badly when on feet a lot.  Still????  This pic is of my swelling recently.   

1 like, 124 replies

124 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

I have an old injury about 10 years ago I have a rod going down leg with screws in ankle ..one screw seems like it’s pertruding but I’m 47 yrs old maybe my skin is just thinner ? ,should I worry about it ...it feels fine....could use advice can’t take unnecessary time off work ....thanks
    • Posted

I’m not a medical professional, I can only say as a person who also has screws in her leg ankle that if you see your hardware protruding you should get it looked at. I have seen pictures online where it has actually gone through the skin, it’s better to be safe.
    • Posted

I had two broken lower legs from a car hitting me. I am three and a half months post . I have plates and pins in each leg. I am starting to walk with a walker. my ankles swell up very bad. how long did your ankles continue to swell as you practiced walking again?

• Posted

I also had two broken ankles but it was 13 months ago. I still swell especially in the afternoon. I use beige colored ankle braces to squeeze back the swelling and it helps, also good arch support.

GOOD luck

• Posted

I broke one ankle and the other foot had 2 avulsion fractures. I have a plate on the fibula and 2 screws in the tibia. Right now I am mostly walking with a walker but trying to walk a little without it. It has been a little over 2 months since surgery.