Problem drinking

Posted , 6 users are following.

I've been drinking quite heavily for a couple of years now and want to quit but the idea of managing without alcohol scares me. I drink when i'm happy sad, scared, excited...everything. I have 2 young daughters and want to be a role model for them. My parents are both heavy drinkers and I don't want that for my girls. My husband is threatening to leave me if I don't give up. I really really want to but  i've failed so many times. Hoping that having online support helps me

2 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

hi rmd you sound very mixed up, you have 2 daughters, who i am sure you love so much, you have a loving husband, the first thing in my mind, that you cut down any contact with other people that drink,even if this means your parents for a while, show your husband you want to do this, ask him to help you and support you, make him feel part of your fight to stop,i realy think one day you will be that role model, cut down on your intake, ask your husband to come to the doctors with you,  you cant do this alone or without some sort of medication i wish you all the luck in the world it wont be easy (i know i have been through it)     
  • Posted

I'm just going through this, can I ask you how much you drink a day or evening? Honestly? X
    • Posted

I don't drink in the day, it's usually after the girls are in bed and not every night. Sometimes I go through good spells where i only drink at weekends but that's been rarer and rarer lately. I can easily drink a bottle of wine, sometimes a bottle and a half a night
    • Posted