Prolapsed disc L5S1 Pain unbearable

Posted , 11 users are following.

hi

I have had sciatica for 4-5 months and pain has been awful. Numb down leg and foot (left side). I have no ankle reflex and now lost some sensation in genital area and bottom. I was admitted to hospital last week and had MRI scan which shows prolapsed disc, however was advised I did not need emergency surgery as I haven't lost control of my bladder/bowel.  I have been referred to Neurologist at the New Glasgow Super Hospital. I was told I will need surgery. Not sure how long I will wait for an appointment. Iam releieved in one hand that I have answer re sciatica pain as physio and pain killers not helping but on other hand scared re prospect of surgery.  Looking for advice re what it will entail and recovery period.  I don't know how much longer I can put up with the pain.  I've been off work 3 months and want to get back. I am a social worker and spend a lot of time typing lenghty reports, attending meetings, driving and visits so not sure how feasible getting back is. 

Jackie 

0 likes, 35 replies

35 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi

I am now getting the odd pins and needles or more like a feeling that a needle is being stuck into my other foot.  The pain and pins and needles remain in my left side/foot.  I am wondering if this can happen or should I be concerned.  It's bad enough having it all down my left side without the added pain to my other foot (the right leg is fine it just the odd occasion I am feeling this sensation on the right foot). 

the whole situation is getting me down.  

• Posted