Prostatic Artery Embolization procedure

Posted , 19 users are following.

As a health professional, I was worried about the effects of a TURP procedure. Although my urologist was against doing a PAE, saying he did not know about it and that it was experimental,  the research I had seen suggested it would be a good approach with no effects on sexual function and fewer complications that a TURP.

Since PAE is a relatively new procedure, the effects of it have been measured for a space of 3-5 years post-procedure in the research currently available.

I went ahead and had the procedure done 4 weeks ago. The results have been simply wonderful. All symptoms of BPH have dissappeared.

Prior to the procedure I had painful urination, weak flow, frequent urinary urges, around 100 ml of urine output each time I voided,and the ultrasound revealed that my bladder was almost full after urinating. I was concerned that it could lead to hydronephrosis in the future.

I now get up 2x a night to urinate. I measure my output at home, and my nightly volume exceeds 300 ml each time I go, sometimes to 400 ml or more.  My daytime urinary output is approximately 250 ml at each urination with no urges, no spotting, no burning sensation or a need to push using a valsava manuever. It just flows out naturally with no effort.

The research on it show that results are operator-dependent. That is, the more experience the doctor doing as, the more successful and less complications.

I flew from the west coast to have the procedure done at UNC Chapel Hill since their team, and Dr. Isaacson, have been doing well over a hundred of them. Great staff.