Read that colour changes (white patches) may not go away; How to tell if LS is in remission?

Posted , 9 users are following.

I read that sometimes colour changes may not be reversible. In that case, how do you know if the LS is in remission and the colour change is just permanent? 

The general guidelines seem to include a tapering of clobetasol to either as needed or a less frequent application but I'm confused as to how to tell whether LS is in remission if the discolouration can be present even after symptoms resolve.

I am new to this stuff, and it seems that the amount of information is often conflicting! Thanks!

0 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Sparker,

I'm 63 and at my last appointment my gynae said that this faded coloring is normal for my age. The time before she told me that the hard yellowish lumps just inside my vagina are also normal for my age. So, bottom line – if you're not inflamed with raw, red, sore, itchy or swollen areas and you don't have any tears, it's good.

• Posted

Thanks, Morell. I'm in my 30s so I don't think the white area is age-related.  The thing is, so far I have never had red, sore, or swollen areas (I am very lucky to say; though it could be just that I caught it very early on). The white area was mildly itchy on occasion at one point, but that was it. Weirdly some of the white area went away after I had my biopsy. So now I still have some whiteness but I can't figure out how to determine whether it's active LS or not! 
    • Posted

Hi,

Very interesting as I've wondered the same thing. I have white patches which don't itch and what appears to be normal skin areas that do itch. From a biopsy I was diagnosed with LS on the non white patch and hyper keratosis on the White patch.