Read that colour changes (white patches) may not go away; How to tell if LS is in remission?

Posted , 9 users are following.

I read that sometimes colour changes may not be reversible. In that case, how do you know if the LS is in remission and the colour change is just permanent? 

The general guidelines seem to include a tapering of clobetasol to either as needed or a less frequent application but I'm confused as to how to tell whether LS is in remission if the discolouration can be present even after symptoms resolve.

I am new to this stuff, and it seems that the amount of information is often conflicting! Thanks!

0 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Good question sparker. I'm in my 20s so I don't think the white area is age related in my case as Morrell mentioned.

I was diagnosed in January and my white patches are still there. Sometimes it looks like they are fading and other times they look the same. I have read that they can take a long time to fade. A long time I'm assuming years? I also read that they may not go away. That disturbs me a little knowing that it isn't reversible.

I agree though that there is a lot of conflicting information!

• Posted

Hi Sparker,