Recovery from broken tibia

Posted , 7 users are following.

I'm new to this panel. I been suffering with a lot of pain and swelling since my cast came off 3 weeks ago. I broke my tibia 3/18/19. I don't have insurance so I can't get physical therapy. I did find exercises on the web and been doing them. I have a walking boot although when I have it on after an hour I'm in agony.

I just don't know what to do anymore with the swelling/pain. I ice, elevate, ibuprofen, tylenol, epsom salt etc. I was told by ortho that I can walk on it i.e. weight bearing. I only can limp. I finally took my first shower (all the way in shower) a week ago & could stand up fine but boy did my leg/foot/ankle hurt after.

I drove my car 1st time yesterday about 1/2 a mile and no issue.

I hope I can get some positive feedback from anyone out there. Sorry this was so long winded.

Kathy R.

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted

HI Kathy, I am new to this forum also and only had ORIF surgery 10 days ago for a triple malleolar fracture. i am in considerable pain and wont get my cast off until 11 th JULY and then another one until I visit the clinic again in a further four weeks. I am finding these lovely people are helping me by sharing our experiences as you feel so alone when you are immobile. i dearly hope you recover well soon because I am told its a long slow road. are you in the USA by any chance? In the UK physical therapy is part of the aftercare. look after yourself. keep your chin up, I KEEP TELLING MYSELF TO DO LIKEWISE!

• Posted