rectocele repair

Posted , 7 users are following.

good morning. i have never used a forum before but im not finding my hospital very helpful.

i am two weeks post op rectocele repair and already had antibiotics for a bladder infection. i still have to use suppositories to empty my bowel as there is no drive no push as if its dead.can anyone help me on this as i feel he has made things worse. i walk every day. i eat healthy i drink alot of water but no it doesnt want to work. my gp gave me laxido to take but found that too aggresive. i really wanted to do this by myself naturally but am i wrong. i would really appreciate some help here on what to do what to expect etc.

0 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi

The worse thing you can do after any repair is strain on the toilet.

You will need to help go for months yet as the internal stitches and tisdu e heals.

You are not meant to go naturally at this stage and any help is the best way forward.

The best formula is movicol. It's very effective is giving you easy bowels movements without being a purge. I had my tvh and repair in January and still take 2 a day.

You will get there but you are so early in recovery that your body is still healing.

It takes 12 wks for your body to begin to return to normal.

Whatever you do don't strain to poo or you will prolapse again for sure.

Just rest and no heavy lifting and bending.x

• Posted

hi there thankyou for your reply. it made me feel so much better. just one thing if the glycerin suppositories allow me to pooh should i still take the laxido or is it one or the other.
    • Posted

My doctor gave me suppositories as well as Iaxatives, I needed to take a suppository on occations when I couldn't pass bm, .so you can take them together when needed.better to use a suppository than STRAIN.this situation will pass eventually. It did for me,so hang on in there.its really early days for you.get lots of rest.no lifting.follow the chart ,if you were given one.x