Regular Migraine auras

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi there, I’m new to this forum but am desperate to find help. I have my first child 9 Months ago and for the first time in my life started getting migraine auras. I don’t get the usual

Pain after just 20-30 Mins or aura which is terrifying. 

I recently saw a neurologist who has sent me for an mri but says it sounds like migraine. As I am new to this I am Trying to find a treatment to reduce the frequency at which they are occurring. I found some information on vitamin b2 as well as a

Daily aspirin. Has anyone had success reducing the frequency and if so how? Also is there anyone else that has had migraines start later on in life? I am 30 years old. 

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Lizzie,

It's perfectly possible to have migraine auras without having headaches. The later in life these migraines start the more likely they are to be acephalgic (i.e. without headache). They're quite likely to start after a major life event like having a baby - and also to disappear again spontaneously.

The reason why I'm fairly knowledgeable about this is that I had my first-ever migraine aura (with no headache) just six months ago, at the age of 73! I'm a former neuro nurse, but was completely unaware that classic migraines could start this late in life. I totally freaked out, thought I was having a stroke, especially as mine started with a large blind spot in the centre of my field of vision (both eyes). I was actually on the verge of calling an ambulance, when it started moving to one side, and took on the typical shimmering, flashing appearance with jagged black lines. That's when I realised it was a migraine aura and calmed down a bit. The whole thing lasted around 35 minutes.

I haven't had another one since then, but my GP says I may well, now I've had the first one.

It's good that you've seen a neurologist and will be having an MRI, just to be sure, but it's unlikely anything will show up.