Rezum Procedure

Posted , 31 users are following.

Hi All,

I'm Ted from San Jose CA in the US. Had the Rezum procedure completed in my doctor’s office on Thursday, 16 Nov 2017 to alleviate my BPH. Here is the log of what has happened so far. Hopefully this is helpful in what to expect. I will attempt to post my discussion for each day every few days.

Patient info: 65 YO, 192 lbs (87kg), 6' (436cm), diabetic type 1 for 51yrs, A1C 6.5 level,  Flomax for BPH since ~2013, Prostate ~50cm. Have had weak urination flow since my 20's. I work full time as a Facilities Mgr.

A few days prior to procedure - started taking probiotics, and more fiber and stool softener. Increased my fluid intake and decreased my intake of solid food.

16 Nov 2017

One hour prior to the procedure at home I was directed to take 1 Hydrocodone-Acetaminophen (10mg-325mg Tablet). Within 30 minutes of taking it, I started feeling its effects.

At the Doctor's office - 1.5 hrs after taking the HA tablet, the doctor gave me a short duration general anesthesia in my arm. Did not know the procedure was done until I was getting dressed. Did not feel anything. The entire procedure (from the anesthesia to when I was getting dressed was about 45 minutes). I left the doctor’s office with a catheter and leg bag. Catheter will stay in until 27 Nov (partly due to Thanksgiving holiday and weekend (23-26 Nov). Thought I'd have it out no later than 22 Nov. 

Once home I took my first pill of Levofloxacin (500mg -antibiotic, 1/day). No pain but some discomfort from the catheter moving around when I moved. Had some blood in urine. Drank a lot of fluid, herbal teas and water.  Empty ~300 ml from the bay every 2-3 hours. Ate lite meals. Went to bed feeling fine. Got up 3 times to empty bag.

17 Nov, 2017