Second day on citalopram

Posted , 11 users are following.

I'm new to this so first of all I just wanna explain my situation!

I've been depressed and anxious for a while now, had my son 4 months ago and I dealt with my depression and anxiety really well in pregnancy because I knew it would affect my son. Anyway, last week I began having really bad panic attacks (rang the ambulance twice!). I've been put on citalopram 10mg since yesterday, felt awful all day. Almost dazed. Woke up feeling ok but dreading taking the next tablet. I've been on sertaline before which made me really ill so I hope this drug will sort me out. I just really need to hear some success stories with citalopram, I was reluctant to take it anyway which probably caused majority of the side effects. Is there a light at the end of the tunnel? I feel like giving up.

0 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Megan welcome to this forum, it’s an amazing place to talk and connect with others in the same or similar situation.  it works very well for me I was on it before for a few years then stopped!! However this time restarting  was difficult due to side effects. First month was worst but knowing they were just side effects of the drug while it was getting into the system helped. And obviously hearing others experiences helped too. Keep taking it you will come good. I am sure x x love and blessings gili
    • Posted

Hi Gili. I think that's what I seem to forget, the feelings ARE side effects! I just feel as if I'm in a bubble, very forgetful etc. I'm glad to hear they worked for you I'm praying it will for me too. What side effects did you experience? Megan xx

• Posted

Dry mouth nausea wt loss for first month then increased morning anxiety but hard to know exactly how much was situational but keep telling yourself it is only side effects as it probably is. All will be well give it time the meds work very slowly x x 
    • Posted