Second day on citalopram

Posted , 11 users are following.

I'm new to this so first of all I just wanna explain my situation!

I've been depressed and anxious for a while now, had my son 4 months ago and I dealt with my depression and anxiety really well in pregnancy because I knew it would affect my son. Anyway, last week I began having really bad panic attacks (rang the ambulance twice!). I've been put on citalopram 10mg since yesterday, felt awful all day. Almost dazed. Woke up feeling ok but dreading taking the next tablet. I've been on sertaline before which made me really ill so I hope this drug will sort me out. I just really need to hear some success stories with citalopram, I was reluctant to take it anyway which probably caused majority of the side effects. Is there a light at the end of the tunnel? I feel like giving up.

0 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Yes there is a light at the end of the tunnel but it takes time x you will have good days and some bad but it does get better x Must be difficult with a young baby although it gives you something positive to focus on x i am 11 weeks in on a higher dose had a blip yesterday and the day before but feeling better today x Keep on with the tabs x
  • Posted

Hi Megan, please don’t give up, this can be an amazing med, I took it for a year & thought I would try life again without it, ‘big mistake’. I felt angry, tired, dizzy & no concentration!  So I started taking it again & because it was still in my system, felt a lot better again after a few days!   So at least give It a month, otherwise you will never know what the benefits will reap for you, the good thing Is you are In contact with similar people now & will have good advice through their experiences, If you have any problems, I’m a friendly ear,  there Is always going to be a ‘settling’ In period with any med, so good luck with your perseverance If you chose to do so.

• Posted

Hi Mike,