Selincro

Posted , 6 users are following.

Still somenone eating Selincro and It helps?

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I gather English is not your first language, which makes it a little difficult to understand your question.

If you mean, are people still taking Selincro and is it working for them, then the answer is yes. Providing they follow the guidelines.

• Posted

Yes I live in Sweden and I have been eating similar medication called Naltrexone but I dont think it helps a lot, now I can buy It her but It is so expensive so I just wonder If it works better than Naltrexone. I am goint to try Selincro anyway. I have been drinking beer every day for many years, but I do work and dont get so much hangovers. I use to drink about 6 beers a day I am 50 years old.
    • Posted

Selincro (nalmefene) is very similar to naltrexone, not much difference. Personally I would stick with the naltrexone if it is much cheaper. How do you get the medication, through  a doctor or privately?

The important thing with these two drugs, is that they need to be taken and used in a specific way for them to work, you can't just swallow a pill and think that will work. Do you take the pill and wait an hour before drinking, do you only take the pill when you are going to drink.

BTW, 50 is a good age (same as me), I too used to drink 6 -8 pints a day. Mind you, beer prices in Britain are lower than Sweden.

• Posted

What do you take are you drinking or not
    • Posted

No, I have stopped drinking. I went into hospital for treatment about 18 months ago and whilst I was there, they did tests and told me I needed to stop drinking.

I took diazepam to help come off the alcohol and I now take Campral (acamprosate) to help with the craving, so I don't start drinking again.

There are a number of people on this forum that use naltrexone and Selincro, and they will come and post some answers and help regarding these medications later on. So do check the forum later today.