Sertraline Diary

Posted , 17 users are following.

31st March 2018.

Having read the huge number of posts about this drug, and the side effects associated with it, I thought it might be helpful to start a diary of my own experience as I am new to it and wonder whether others can relate to what I'm going through.

If this diary can be of mutual benefit to us then it's worth it! Any positive comments would obviously be greatly appreciated.

I've suffered from what I would consider to be mild to moderate depression for a few years, enough to take the edge off life, but controllable without drugs. Then, at the beginning of March an episode in my personal life set me off on a full-blown panic attack: going cold, violent shaking, severe nausea, cold sweats, worse case scenario thoughts, complete lack of appetite, insomnia etc, the attack lasted about 36 hours. Another attack later and my very supportive husband took me off to the doctor.

I have been prescribed 50mg sertraline, with 80mg propranolol beta blocker (to take the edge off the panic attacks).

The course started 28th March, I'm taking the tablets at about 9am. Having read the leaflets that come with the medicines, I understood that side effects were possible and that the benefits can take a while to kick in. But..... Oh My Goodness!!!! Hardly slept that night.

29th March, spent most of the day in bed, could just about get out to use the loo, had to rely on husband to cook dinner for the kids (16 and taking gcse's- arghh, and 11 and stressed from moving to secondary school- arghh). Felt very nauseous but actually had a half-decent night's sleep.