Sertraline Withdrawals

Posted , 9 users are following.

I have been on sertraline for some years, 7 in total i think.  I have been reducing my dose for 18 months and now got to the point i am off them, wow, why did my gp not warn me about the withdrawals??  my eyes feel like they are alien to my body, when i move my head i feel i need to wait for them to catch up, i feel like i am underwater as my head feels "fluffy"...how long does this go on for?  I haven't taken any pills for a week now...

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Sarah, it can take some time as your nervous system can not rewire itself back to its original self over night, would be cool if it could if you know. It's all a matter of time, some people don't have too much of a problem with WDs, some do...

Eat plenty of oily fish and the food that you know is good for you. Cut out junk food and stimulating drinks to speed up recovery. You will get better in time, gods speed to you 😃

• Posted

Hi Pauljdme, i am sure it will take time, and i feel maybe i don't have too much to complain about after reading just how bad it has been / is, for others.  The only real problem i have is my vision/ feeling like i have a woolly head!! 

Some days are worse than others and hopefully soon i will start having more good days than bad.

Thank you for your advice

• Posted

Sarah Drs. don't have a clue, at least mne didn't!   I had withdrawls up to a year and a half after. These drugs Affect your brain chemistry.  I never felt well on any of the 3 i tried.  My Dr. did not believe me said my anxiety was returning, not true, I know my body it was w.d. But for this site and others that have experienced the same I'd of gone crazy.  

Take care and stay the course you will get better.  Go back a year or two on this site you will see many of us experienced every w.d. going.  Some people are lucky I was not one of them!  

• Posted

Hi Maureen,