Sertraline Withdrawals

Posted , 9 users are following.

I have been on sertraline for some years, 7 in total i think.  I have been reducing my dose for 18 months and now got to the point i am off them, wow, why did my gp not warn me about the withdrawals??  my eyes feel like they are alien to my body, when i move my head i feel i need to wait for them to catch up, i feel like i am underwater as my head feels "fluffy"...how long does this go on for?  I haven't taken any pills for a week now...

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

So I jumped from Sertraline 100 mg daily for a year. I am six days in and dragging big time...my eyes are dryer than usual, tinnitus is ringing like Big Ben, just above the sinus is a dull headache, and I feel exhausted, truly exhausted.

Last year my dose was doubled when I received a dreadful diagnosis that rattled me. The additional 50 truly helped me through. Frankly, I felt fabulous...and I gained 40 pounds...which feels like I gained an entire canyon of stones.

After reading that others shared my experience, I made the decision that 40 additional pounds were more damaging to my MVP, my OA, my JRA, my Sjogren's, my Crohn's, and my osteoporosis than it was worth in bubbly enthusiasium.

Today, I am considering going back on the 50 mg I had been on

That's my two cents worth...may we all succeed...may we all find our own peace.

kind regards

judith

• Posted

Check this for a taper...

My doc has suggested I taper off 200 mg Sertraline as follows

3 days 150mg

3 days 100mg

3 days 50mg

STOP!

(Bit Worried)

• Posted

Wow!

That is fast.  Have you not been on them long?

I have been on them for 4 years.  I have just started coming off mine.  For the last 2 months I have been advised to take 50gm one day and 25gm the next.  I have not had any side effects then.