Severe Disability Premium

Posted , 7 users are following.

I've been awarded the enhanced rates for mobility and daily living and today I received a letter saying I might be eligible for Severe Disabilty Premium. I've never heard of this and there's a form to fill in.

It's asking me if anyone is being paid a carer's allowance for looking after me and if anyone lives with me. The answer is no to both. I've been without a carer for a long time because my personal independence payments were cut to a very low amount.

I'm getting some help to get a new carer but if I say in the form that I don't have a carer at the moment will that mean I'm not eligible for the severe disability permium?

Do you get this payment? What is it they're trying to find out? Even though I don't have a carer I'm not capable of looking after myself, I'm just surviving the best I can.

1 like, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi I'm new to all this iv just phoned jobcentre and they told me the sdp don't exist have I been fobbed off I get esa support group and enhanced pip and live alone if u have any answers or advice please let me no thank u so much

• Posted

Yes you have been fobbed off. I got a form about it through the post that I had to fill in so it exists!

I've been fobbed off in a way for 2 or 3 years since not having a carer because i didn't know about it.

• Posted

I sugest that you phone again and ask to speak to a manager if the person says it doesn't exist.

Look it up in the yougov site first as proof.

• Posted

Jen ,

I back GeorgiaS 110% on this

SEVERVE DISABILITY PREMIUM does exist £61.85 a week .....you have to have an underlying entitlement this means in receipt of a qualifying benefit usually DLA mid or high care rate or PIP monlbikity component/ enhanced mobility component ..ESA support group...CHECK YOUR ESA entitlement letter (the one with the rates and ammounts (at present its £186.20pw or there abouts per week paid every TWO weeks )