SHINGLES........ after the rash and pain are gone

Posted , 21 users are following.

I am a 75 yo female who was diagnosed with Shingles early December 2017. I took the antiviral meds, dealt with a nasty rash on right side of midsection , took pain meds, used ice packs and finally got over that after 31/2 months. 

But I am just really tired and have to make myself do daily things. Some days are better than others but I am not where I was before December 1, 2017 when Shingles symptoms hit like a brick!  I am healthy other than hypertension controlled with meds. I just cannot seem to shake this fatigue. Anyone else have this problem?? I’m a nurse , so I am constantly evaluating myself. I’m a much better nurse than I am a patient! Any suggestions??

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Next
  • Edited

Hi Jeannie,

Physicians fail to tell patients, probably because they are unaware, that fatigue and exhaustion are often long lasting sequelae of shingles. So many of us have these symptoms for many months up to a year after the onset of the rash.

I am sorry you are dealing with the fatigue of shingles. You get tired of feeling tired...

Shingles is not a minor inconvenience with some pain. Your entire body has been assaulted by a nasty virus.

Some of us nurses are not patient at being patients, myself included, although I have learned to ask for help and accept things as they come, ( not giving in and doing nothing, but fighting for the best treatment, working in rehabilitation, etc.

I am a Nurse Practitioner and have had Herpes Zoster-Shingles in my right ear every three to five weeks for the past 21 years and twice in my right eye. I also had two strokes and other issues, but keep on going and going...

Best Wishes

Merry Juliana

• Posted

I don't really have any suggestions except for the following:

Get your Vitamin D level checked as a low Vitamin D impaired immunity.