Side effects when in AF

Posted , 11 users are following.

I was first diagnosed with PAF ( paroxysmal atrial fibulation) in 2011. Having spent a spell in CCU atrial flutter was also found. I was referred to the EP to discuss ablation but having heard the risks attached to this procedure decided against having it for the moment as I feel I have not explored all the medical treatments available yet. I currently take Bisoprolol 3.75 mgs and Eloquis 5mgs with no probs until last night. Last night I had a prolonged episode of AF which causes me to pass copious amounts of urine. I just wondered if this happens to anyone else. I have to say these attacks do freak me out somewhat, but try to stay calm. My trigger factors are caffeine, lying on my left side  stress, and drinking cold drinks, is anyone else the same. I find these forums to be very reassuring, nice to know we are not alone. I am a newbie on here so I hope I have done this correctly.

0 likes, 37 replies

37 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi June,

Can you recall what you ate and drank in the 24hrs previous? Maybe you had something containing msg or preservatives- they are what trigger my attacks. Lots of drinks have preservatives in them.

The passing of lots of urine is normal for AF- all to do with the hormones released. Check out some info on the net or ask your doctor. I wouldnt rush to have an ablation either. If l avoid my triggers ( which are hard to do when you go out to eat) then l am pretty good. Good luck.

• Posted

Thank you robynfromOz.

Thats quite interesting, although where possible I try and eat organic foods, but also eat out a lot. Will try and make better choices. I am teetotal and only ever have caffeine and preservative free drinks. Thanks for your input. Good luck to you to.

• Posted

Hi June