Side effects when in AF

Posted , 11 users are following.

I was first diagnosed with PAF ( paroxysmal atrial fibulation) in 2011. Having spent a spell in CCU atrial flutter was also found. I was referred to the EP to discuss ablation but having heard the risks attached to this procedure decided against having it for the moment as I feel I have not explored all the medical treatments available yet. I currently take Bisoprolol 3.75 mgs and Eloquis 5mgs with no probs until last night. Last night I had a prolonged episode of AF which causes me to pass copious amounts of urine. I just wondered if this happens to anyone else. I have to say these attacks do freak me out somewhat, but try to stay calm. My trigger factors are caffeine, lying on my left side  stress, and drinking cold drinks, is anyone else the same. I find these forums to be very reassuring, nice to know we are not alone. I am a newbie on here so I hope I have done this correctly.

0 likes, 37 replies

37 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi June, I quite often feel flutters when my bladder is full but haven't actually passed loads of urine because of an episode. Some have said in the past that is the panic side of us realising we are in PAF? not sure on that one.

My triggers are coffee,drink only de caf now, MSG, sugar replacement,red wine and hormonal rises and dips, I can guarantee one week out of a month I am very problematic. The good thing is though that these days I know it will pass and so just go along with it.

• Posted

Most definitely not a panic reaction mazza. There's a proven biochemical pathway. See above.
    • Posted

yeah terence, I knew this, just got cheesed off at consently being told otherwise, thanks
  • Posted

I had never connected passing urine with an episode until two weeks ago. I took one of my tablets lay down and once the episode subsided I had to run to the loo! 
  • Posted

I f in arrhythmia at night I have to pay about 6 visits to the loo