Sinusitis (Personality Change, "empty head syndrom"??)

Posted , 13 users are following.

Hello there,

I am depressed due long lasting sinusitis. since half a year i have headaches. sometimes mild and sometimes they are really aggressive. But the worst part of all that iss the personality change! I was always a kinda introverted guy but since my sinusitis got severe i cant have lasting or quality conversation. Though i was kinda shy i had always a lot of thoughts and i was a passionate college philosophy student. But not anymore i turned stupid, kinda dead inside and i have a empty head all the time. thinking doesnt feel intuitive. when i try to force myself to have a longer thought chain, it doesnt work and i get frustrated and depressed. 

People notice a change, im not sociable anymore and i dont enjoy any type of conversation. it feels impossible when you cant digest any information.

I start to freak out because i cant make sense of how sinusitis gives me this symptoms. 

Does anyone have experience with this sinusitis symptoms?

(sry for my english im from germany)

0 likes, 29 replies

29 Replies

Next
  • Posted

100% yes.

I have been battling sinus problems for a year now and currently taking my post graduate masters and struggling.

What you are describing sounds like what I call brain fog. It feels like you have constant pressure in your head and in a haze due to the sinus pressure.

It's like I can't concentrate or string sentences together as clearly and my qualify of writing has dropped significantly. 100% of my effort is going into just making it through the day through feeling basically rubbish, it's been these way for so long that over time I have just isolated myself a little bit more.

I am also suffering anxiety and depressed which can exacerbate these feeling. There is no winning.

I have been given Sertraline for the anxiety and depression (not yet started) but really think I would be better if my head could feel just a bit clearer!

• Posted