Someone please help.

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hello. I am in a desperate place and need help/feedback. This is my first time ever posting, so please bare with me if it is lengthy. I am a 27 year old female, very overweight, nonsmoker.

I've had anxiety for as long as I can remember, even in childhood. However, in the past months it has taken on a new form and is totally debilitating. It started in October. The night before a flight (I'm terrified of flying) I started having awful pain in the back left side of my head, as if I had hit it or were having a stroke. Ever since then I've had every strange symptom imaginable: heart palpitations, tingling in my face, weakness on my left side, dizziness, a sense that I am going to pass out, night tremors, a vague dissociative feeling, and more. I should add that I've been under a lot of pressure: my dad was diagnosed with cancer, my mom is in kidney failure, my marriage is absolutely falling apart, and there are pressures at work and school (finished grad school in December) that seem overwhelming to me. I've had an MRI due to two family members having MS. It was normal. I've had normal routine blood tests, decent blood pressure readings, a normal EKG, but can't shake the feeling that something is gravely wrong. I've drastically changed my diet and have started therapy. I've tried a low dose of Busbar, which wasn't that helpful. I think I'm just looking for someone who can relate, because I feel so alone.

1 like, 25 replies

25 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Holly

First out - take the good from what you have. You have seen a doctors and they have ruled out anything obviously critical. This is a major Plus point.

What I can tell from your post is that you have immense stress in your life and your thoughts are all over the place based on stress factors. This is one of the main instigators of panic attacks. It appears that your mind has reached a point where the stress is taking its toll and thus what you are feeling.