Spirometry Test Results - Please give me your opinion

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi all, I'm a 32 year olf Female - nonsmoker and pretty active. I have had a bad cold for a week last October (lost my voice in the process). It went away in a week or so but I have been left with a chronic cough. Dry at most times then with some mucus (even though I never was able to spit any out). The mucus is clear from what I saw. The cough didn't let me sleep for several nights, then got better, then worse again the better then worse. I work as a school teacher so I was always using my voice and thus coughing more. I have been on sick leave for 2 weeks now. My chest xray was clear, but when I took a spirometry test my FEV1 was 73% but my FEV1/FVC was 83% - when I took the bronchodilator my FEV1 rose to 92%. The doctor said it is Asthma even though I don't have any symptoms. I took some inhaled steroids for a few days but they didn't do much. I went to a pulmonologist who said it is not asthma but took a detailed history a said it is silent reflux.

I have been on the acid reflux medication for a week and my cough got better (still coughing but only half as much). However, I think I just caught a flu because I have all the symptoms and am worried my cough will get worse - I have been coughing for 7 weeks now. Sometimes more, sometimes less. My throat was very itchy before but is better now.

All the doctors I have visited listened to my chest and said it is clear - 

What do you think I have and what should I do? The cough is really bothering me and stressing everyone around.

Thank you.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi    i am Arwinarwin and i am not a docter but this may help you a vapriser or humdifer and drink tea with honey and lemon,and use cough drops to help the cought it helps me a lot. ho i for got tack vitaim c too.
  • Posted