Starting on Citalopram, chatting and progress

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi all,

i'm just starting out on citalopram, i'm male aged 47 and have been on and off lots of different antidepressants for about 15 years.

i just thought i would record here how its going and if anyone wants to chat about anything (for example how you are doing, or would like to share advice, please join in).

i started out on 10mg of citalopram, about 2 weeks ago, but for the last 3 days or so, i have moved up to 20mg. i didn't really have any side effects when starting the 10mg, but its certainly a different case now i am taking 20mg. there's a very noticeable increase in anxiety, which tends to be worse in the morning/early afternoon. i am also feeling very nauseous and am lacking appetite. i am currently splitting the 20mg dose, taking 10mg at midday, and another 10mg before bed around midnight.

i'm currently not sleeping well and feeling tired throughout the day.

i have lots of 'automatic negative thinking' going on but am trying to just do things through the day, and i have a part-time job i go to in the evenings, which i will continue to try to go to even if not feeling very well.

i guess that's about it for now then, i will continue to post updates. it can be a difficult road when starting antidepressants as you dont know how long they will take to work, assuming you are on the right one which suits you, and to find the right dose also.

sending good luck your way to anyone who is reading this and is also trying to get well.

0 likes, 37 replies

37 Replies

Next
  • Edited