Starting steriods

Posted , 13 users are following.

I am new to PMR, only three months. I saw my rheumy two weeks ago. She started me on 20 mg and said to go up 5 mg until all the pain is gone. I am at 30 mg and still have some pain. I hate the idea of going up higher. I fear I have to and am putting it off. She said I might be one of the rare cases of needing a high start dose. I am only diagnosed with PMR. Did anyone else start at a high dose like this? Will I ever get to a small dose? I also have DM and now I am taking short and long acting insulin. Can I get some insight on this please.

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi jill58546

15mg is normally the starting dose for PMR only, and usually 30mg sometimes higher dose for PMR and GCA together. How long were you to take 20mg before going up 5mg? What was the time period before getting to 30mg. I was prescribed 15mg initially and it took approx 7-10 days before the pain abated....

• Posted

I started at 20 then had to go to 30 for 3 weeks then back to 20. I am at 15 now.
  • Posted

I take it you have only been on pred for 2 weeks?  You are already at a high starting dose and if it is "just" PMR it would be better not to keep creeping up unless you have any signs or symptoms of GCA and then you could well need more.