Starting steriods

Posted , 13 users are following.

I am new to PMR, only three months. I saw my rheumy two weeks ago. She started me on 20 mg and said to go up 5 mg until all the pain is gone. I am at 30 mg and still have some pain. I hate the idea of going up higher. I fear I have to and am putting it off. She said I might be one of the rare cases of needing a high start dose. I am only diagnosed with PMR. Did anyone else start at a high dose like this? Will I ever get to a small dose? I also have DM and now I am taking short and long acting insulin. Can I get some insight on this please.

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Jill, you lucky to have found the forum so quickly, I am tapering off 30 mg, currently on 6 tapering to 5.5, I am also a diabetic on oral meds. About 2 1/2 years on my PMR journey. After bad flare needed about 6 weeks on 30 mg to be PMR pain free. The wisdom, knowledge and encouragement I received on the forum has made my journey much easier. There is a lot to learn about the PMR journey and here is the best place to start, I was a year into my journey before I found the forum. Taper slowly, try not to taper off you are having PMR pain. Think positive, stay active, don't over do it and smile, it helps. 🙂

• Posted

Thank you. I do like this site. It eases my mind sometimes. After reading some stories I’m not as worried about this is that I was
  • Posted

I started on 50mg and now on 10mg, I had flare ups every time I decreased the prednisone but I continued because I just could not tolerate all the side effects.

My rheumatologist has now diagnosed me with rheumatoid arthritis, the PMR was just an introduction to the RA.....

• Posted

Glad to hear that others started on high dose. I have been told and believe that I have a very high pain tolerance but this is making me think we were all wrong. The rheumy said she is hoping that the methotrexate will help me decrease faster than normal. Hope she is right.
    • Posted