Stuttering or possible meningitis with mono?

Posted , 9 users are following.

I'm trying to stop freaking out in the forums so much, but this time I really feel like I should ask since the doctor's office isn't open on the weekend. My neck has hurt and been really stiff for two days now. I haven't had others symptoms of Meningitis (apart from a headache yesterday but it went away), but I've stuttered a few times today which I've never done before and it really worries me because I haven't seen anyone else mention this with Mono, but I have seen that Mono can cause Meningitis. Has anyone stuttered from Mono or ended up with Meningitis while having Mono?

0 likes, 72 replies

72 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I also forgot to add that two other Meningitis symptoms I've had are light sensitivity and sleepiness, but since those can also be from Mono I'm really unsure about those.

• Posted

Hi Ciela

Yes I have had the viral meningitis potentially caused by mono (docts suspect it was ebv but didnt catch it in a blood test). Ended up in er as I didnt know who I was, where I was etc. Had the stiff neck, light sensativity, shakes, migraine with aura and tingles down one side. I dont remember much of it really but I do remember being so scared. Unfortunatly for me, the doctor in er said I had gastro and sent me home. Didnt find out till 10month into suffering from mono that it was meningitis.

Im sorry I cant really give you much more reasurance than this, but if you are concerned that you are developing meningitis (and your docts are not open) then go to the hospital if you can. Where I live there are GPs which operate everyday out of the general hospital.

Hope this helps

• Posted

Hi Sweebee,