Surgery and Overnight Stay

Posted , 9 users are following.

I've been scheduled for surgery on Friday afternoon to have my gallblader removed through keyhole where I'll have to stay in hospital overnight.

I've got all these different leaflets about what I need to do before coming in and what I need to bring etc. but I just want to be sure I've got everything in order and that I won't find myself in an awkward position when I'm at the hospital. I just have the feeling that there must be something I should know/do which they won't tell you in the leaflet. This is my first time that I have to stay in a hospital for such a long period of time, and I'm really very nervous.

I really hope to hear from some of you about your experiences in hospital, and whether there is something you wish someone would have told you about before going in!

One of my big concerns is whether I'll be able to see my boyfriend after I wake up, or if I will have to wait to see him until visiting hours in the evening. Will he be allowed to see me at all after the surgery?

What happens to my personal belongings while I'm in surgery? From what I can understand, I will get moved around alot and I'm worried my things might get lost.

Should I bring a spare set of clothes, or should I wear the clothes that I wore going in to the hospital? Am I okay to wear a sports bra or should I wear something looser? The leaflet says to bring a pyjamas and a dressing gown, and I'm wondering how much privacy you get in regards to changing?

What is it like staying overnight? Should I bring something to entertain myself while staying, or will I be too drugged up on painkillers anyway?

I'm so nervous, and I just want to be well prepared!

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I've had my stitches removed, and I'm healing really well. The belly button is still a bit sore and it's a little bruised, but apart from that it's fine.