Syogren's Syndrome diagnosis

Posted , 8 users are following.

I have read various posts in which people have talked about the difficulties of getting a diagnosis for Sjogren's. Has antibodies and an ultrasound of the submandibular glands ever helped anybody's diagnosis?

0 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

My diagnostic process - such as it was - was originally kicked off by a finding of anti-salivary gland antibodies. Paradoxically, I didn't have a remotely dry mouth at that time, but severe dry mouth had been my first, unrecognised, SS symptom 10 years earlier. It had cleared up after 6 months or so, and has recurred sporadically over the intervening 23 years.

• Posted

I am new to this and I have not been diagnosed.  Are the anti-salivary gland antibodies found with a biopsy? I am experiencing a little in terms of dry mouth, eyes and nose. My main complain at the moment is feeling tired frequently.  The blood test showed a positive RA factor but did not find any antibodies. An ultrasound has found some evidence of what could be autoimmune activity in the submandibular glands and thyroid. I wonder if anybody has had that before being diagnosed. I have seen in this forum that a lip biopsy is not always positive even if you have SS and I'd rather avoid that, if possible.

• Posted

Actually, there are other symptoms as well, head aches, inflammations in my body that come and go, pins and needles in my feet. that kind of things
    • Posted

No, the antibodies were found on a blood test.

And I too have all the symptoms you describe in your additional post. I've had this ragbag of symptoms for 23 years now, and though it's very slowly getting worse, at age 73, the condition is still nowhere near disabling for the most part.