This time I'm doing this

Posted , 13 users are following.

So here goes I have never done anything like this before but enough is enough as off tomorrow my 18 years of over indulging in alcohol nearly every day needs to stop, I'm 31 with 3 children and I'm sick of alcohol controlling my life I don't drink in morning or anything like that it's the evenings and I can drink 2 bottles of wine, I don't enjoy it at all and I feel deflated , tired and run down all the time , I have noticed physical effects which has really quiet frightened me.. I find the whole things scary as I can't imagine my life without alcohol... but I'm sick of the guilt and desperation of wanting to stop... and I am determined to get out of routine I have made... I'm not sure if I'm posted in the right chats completely new to this but hoping to start my journey with others who have experienced trouble with alcohol, any help is appreciated thanks :?

0 likes, 39 replies

39 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Definitely in the right place, I've been drinking for 3-4 years as you said nearly every day and eventually progressed to the morning drinking. Withdrawal is awful I've been through it a couple times but I just can't seem to give alcohol up either its so socially acceptable in society. I have no children I'm 23 just graduated college, but the fact that you have three could be a great reason and motivation to stop. I wish you the best.

• Posted

Well don't give up every day is a new day if I can do this so can you, good luck too 👍

• Posted

Hi Leilalouise

Your story mirrors my own except I am older with less kids!!! The length of time of drinking and the amount, is the same as mine. I am currently in my 2nd week of not drinking and am feeling okay, I haven't thought about it or had cravings, which I'm amazed by! I know this is early days for me but I feel stronger each day. I was purely an 'at home' drinker every evening so I have filled that time by thinking & doing other things.