TKR. I've seen countless expressions of the knee being heavy...etc

Posted , 15 users are following.

It kind of ocurred to me the other day, I've seen lots of comments about the knee being 'heavy' and like concrete, and hard, and lots of other adjectives.

Maybe it's because that's exactly what it is...HEAVY....

Prior to my operation, the sister on the ward explained everything and had an example of the new joint (exactly as would be used to replace my knee)....Which she gave me to have a good look at and sort of 'play' with for a few minutes....I remember thinking at the time..."Jeeees...that's one hell of a lump of metal"...And it was...it was very heavy!

Now I'm no expert on the structure of bones, but I'm pretty sure the bones in our body are fairly light structures, although 'generally' incredibly strong, and it seems to me that the knee replacements are nothing like as light.

I'm wondering if that's why most contributors to this forum refer to their knee as feeling 'heavy'...etc.....Maybe that's because that's exactly what the new knee is...HEAVY!!!!

Any thoughts?

0 likes, 90 replies

90 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Pete 

you are so right about the weight of the metal

we also had a joint passed around and both myself and my daughter were surprised at how heavy it was

i suppose we all describe the knee as feeling heavy ...if that was the only issue we would get used to carrying this lump of metal around...it's the pain that's hard to deal with and the sleepless nights.

Jean 

• Posted

hahaha....Yes Jean...I get that as well....Although the sleeping has definitely improved of late....and I'm not taking nearly so many pain killers, just a few paracetamol as and when I feel I need them, which isn't every day.