TKR Incision site looks inflamed

Posted , 15 users are following.

I am three weeks post op.I had my staples out last Monday and the wound looked neat  and had healed well.

This evening,after doing my knee bending and stretching exercises, the  incision site is red and warm.

Oh! Dear! Is something amiss?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi saralice

I too am 3 weeks,2 days post op tkr. What ur describing is very normal. I'm also a nurse experienced in post op wound management. Elevation and the ice machine are your friend. Please don't let that discourage you UNLESS the margins around the wound become tender, red, and swollen. Decreased ROM is also an indicator to call your doctor. As I write this my leg is elevated wrapped in ice machine. You may also notice a scant amount of fluid leakage at the bend of your knee from being torqued on by youth physical therapist. Keep bending keep walking keep up the painful recovery.

Best wishes

Foster

• Posted

If in doubt get straight to surgeon,as soon as any wound looks red and especially warm do not risk it because believe me you do not won't an infection no matter how trivial you think that is good straight to surgeon I would not even bother booking appointment ring them tell them.what's going on and I. Sure if they are any good they will say come straight in ........best of luck

• Posted

I am 22 onths post op and my knee is still warm. However I can do everything I did before my knee problems, caused by trauma, except run. I have an allotment where I can dig, bend, squat. I can walk for 2-3 miles. 

It takes  time, it is painful, you will get depressed with lack of progress. Just keep going.

• Posted

Watch your leg VERY CLOSELY

This could be a major infection settling in

If in doubt, CALL YOUR DOCTOR ASAP

• Posted

Very confused. Just iced again, in bed, hopefully have a decent night. If any worse in the morning I  will go to see a doctor.