Today's the day....

Posted , 11 users are following.

Today I'm going to stop my usual midweek drinking of a bottle per day. I've been doing this pretty much every day for 18 months and after a lovely Mothers Day out, drinking etc - today is th day! 

Question is, how do I go about helping y body recover inside and out from such heavy drinking? 

Thanks for your help guys :-)

0 likes, 33 replies

33 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Any damage done to your liver will repair itself naturally over time if you are not drinking. You may have a deficiency of B Vitamins after drinking excessively and it is worth buying Thiamine (Vitamin B1) (a deficiency of this can lead to alcohol-related dementia later on) and some Vitamin B Complex. You can get both of these over the counter.

Otherwise, decent diet and all the usual healthy things including plenty of water which everyone should have.

Congratulations on your decision and good luck smile

• Posted

Thanks Paul, will get some of these today. I have a B12 deficiency and get injections every 6 weeks. I'll need that luck but feeling positive :D
  • Posted

Hydrate, plenty of fluid. Healthy food that does not come from a packet or in anyway resembles a ready meal. Fruit and vegetables. Thiamine B12 for a month, 100mg per day, available non prescription. Vitamin B compound strong for a month and folic acid for one month, available non prescription.
  • Posted

Have you tried to stop before? Are you planning on continuing drinking, at weekends? Have you discussed prob with Doc?  Best of luck with your decision. I find it sooooo difficult. I am trying a new med now.
    • Posted