total knee replacement

Posted , 13 users are following.

I'm a senior but was younger than age before and age was not an issue but now I feel OLD, very lonely, depressed, nauseated, and no compassion for life.  Pain in knee is getting better but still swollen, warm to touch and sharp pains shoot suddenly.  I drove myself to my Dr appt. and did ok... used walker. At least I got out of house. The pain meds were vital at the begining but became less affective and left side effects like big-time hangover, no appetite. this is my first time on forum and would be very nice to hear back from some of y'all out there.

0 likes, 33 replies

33 Replies

Next
  • Posted

How long since you had the surgery? I remember all those feelings well and I was 56 when I had mine last year - I am sure you will receive lots of replies saying we know how you feel - it is a tough roller coaster ride and it is important to try and help yourself rather than get into a spiral of depression. First for you is eating properly, ensuring you do the pt, using ice, rest elevation etc. and NOT overdoing it too soon. Get help and use aids until you feel more confident and comfortable. Watch TV, spoil yourself, get you hair done etc.. All hard I know but there is a lot we can do to help ourselves through this very hard time - emotionally and physically - its torment and in some ways accepting this and keeping a diary so you can see the improvements, even small ones, might help. Sleep and pain management are key to mental health. Stay on this forum and let us know how you get on - this forum is great - even 13 months on I have a few issues (minor) and find those on here really understand where it is hard for others to. Good luck x
    • Posted

Caroline, wow, looks like  I discovered a forum with many, many winners like you. Tks for the much needed encouragement.
  • Posted

Also - look back through this forum and you will find lots of comrades in arms!
  • Posted