Trying to taper off wine, need some advice.

Posted , 10 users are following.

I'm a 46 year old female and I've been misusing alcohol for over ten years now. I have an anxiety disorder, am extremely introverted and currently have an intense job that is highly demanding of my time and energy. I have little to no support system in place and few people around me, including my current partner of four years, sees me as having a "real" drinking problem. I think because I don't drink until I'm slurry, have never had a blackout, and never needed to get up and drink in the morning, people around me accept my current 1-3 glass a night habit as normal. I've actually had doctors say things like, "come back and see me when you are drinking two bottles a day," or "if you aren't drinking more than me, you don't have a problem."

Well I do have a problem. I drink EVERY day. I think about how, when and where I will have my first glass of wine throughout the day, can rarely stop after one and feel regret every morning, swearing to myself that today will be the first day of the rest of my life where I just don't care about drinking anymore. My health is hugely impacted: night waking, leg cramps, night sweats, heart palpitations, brain fog, memory loss, gastritis and GERD, to name just a few. My mental state fluctuates between super motivated on days after only having one glass to saying f-it, I have no social life because I'm only comfortable with social settings when I'm drinking, so what's the point? I am a highly functioning alcoholic, may as well pour myself another glass of wine and embrace who I am.