Using pain relievers

Posted , 13 users are following.

This may be a silly question but just wondering if others use supplemental pain relievers when needed. I'm fairly new to my PMR diagnosis and the prednisone has greatly reduced my aches and pains in my legs and shoulders. I had bilateral frozen shoulders which after quite a bit of physical therapy are doing great.

I'm a dog groomer and my back has been aching for the last couple of weeks. I find that acetaminophen relieves the pain, where ibuprofen doesn't seem to touch it.

I do have osteopenia in my lower back and I'm taking calcium and other suppliments but just wondering if others have to supplement for pain relief or am I cheating in some way .thank you

0 likes, 42 replies

42 Replies

Next
  • Posted

No such thing as cheating. We're all trying to muddle through this with whatever works. Ibuprofin and acetaminophen can irritate the stomach, and this effect is heightened by prednisone - so please be very restrained. I use ibuprofin about once every two months on a full stomach, and it really helps my pain. Have read here that it won't touch PMR pain, but I have lots of other pain in various areas and it helps. In order to sleep, I take a combination of tylenol and codeine most nights. Obviously a slippery slope, and I have to be very careful not to overdo, and to stay transparent with my doctors and husband. Not recommending it, just sharing my personal experience.

• Posted

I have just been diagnosed with a duodenal ulcer .I took ibuprofen for pain from a broken pelvis only about 3 or 4 times when I was desperate, not having any paracetamol/ acetomenophen on hand.Apperently, prednisone alone rarely causes ulcers but in combination with NSAIDs , it does.I was taking Omeplazol but it didn't prevent the ulcer.

• Posted

Mimi - you're just falling apart girl!!!! wink sad rolleyes 

• Posted