Using pain relievers

Posted , 13 users are following.

This may be a silly question but just wondering if others use supplemental pain relievers when needed. I'm fairly new to my PMR diagnosis and the prednisone has greatly reduced my aches and pains in my legs and shoulders. I had bilateral frozen shoulders which after quite a bit of physical therapy are doing great.

I'm a dog groomer and my back has been aching for the last couple of weeks. I find that acetaminophen relieves the pain, where ibuprofen doesn't seem to touch it.

I do have osteopenia in my lower back and I'm taking calcium and other suppliments but just wondering if others have to supplement for pain relief or am I cheating in some way .thank you

0 likes, 42 replies

42 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Not cheating - but most of us find "normal" painkillers do nothing for PMR-related pain so any pain that responds to especially paracetamol is nothing to do with PMR since it has no real antiinflammatory action. Just don't use too much - the odd dose is fine but you run risks of an upset liver if you get to the stage of needing it at anywhere near the maximum dose for any length of time.

• Posted

Thanks, yes liver damage is a big concern as they say the prednisone takes a toll on the liver as well. Along with my other supplements I started taking milk thistle and vitamin E to help cleanse my liver and I only use the pain medication when I really need it and I keep it at a low dose. If i have to take it, its in the morning to get me through my work day. Thank you for your response
  • Posted

I am taking prednisone and play golf three days a week. Sometimes my back hurts from golf and I take ibuprofen. It relieves the pain and I am not aware of any adverse effects.
    • Posted