Warm compresses and too much oil in tear film

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have mgd. Question,if some of us have tear film that is already too thick,how will the compresses and draining of the fliuds help. With me,the compresses make my vision more blurred as it increases flow of the oil glands? I am new to this. Whats your experiance? My eyes just feel gooey and my vision gets cloudier. Not a happy camper here.

0 likes, 32 replies

32 Replies

Next
  • Posted

That is the aim of the hot compressers.. to clear out your glands and get the oils flowing so you don't get dry eye.
    • Posted

I know but ny vision is worse,i can feel the oil and its blurred.
    • Posted

Try rising Out your eyes with eye drops after you have finished the compressers
    • Posted

I did a dry compress about 10 yesterday and expressed some of the oil with my finger along each lid,then about 2 took a very hot shower and after expressed the oil again. Later went to my sons and all night had blur and felt uncomfortable. I did do the eye drops. Today i dont know if i should give the compress a break as my eyes still are filmy.
    • Posted

Ive not really that before to be honest, a little bit of blur straight after but not hours later. I'm sure theres some peeps on here who can help as every body's symptoms are different.. what are your actual symptoms you where getting to be diagnosed with mgd?
    • Posted

Hazy blurred vision. Some discomfort. I went in and she said my upper lids oil secretions were slightly thick. Try warm compresses 3 times a day,3 fish oil capsules a day and artificial tears 3 times a day. She never mentioned the lid massage. I found that on the web and the nurse knows im doing it as i called them. I had some brief periods of crystal clear vision yesterday then went downhill from there. Thank you for your replies.
  • Posted

I like the compresses.  They feel good, but I still can not express any oil out afterward.

• Posted