Weight Loss Meds

Posted , 8 users are following.

Ive gained about 40lbs after being diagnosed with hyperthyroidism/Graves' disease. After being on steroids for a considerable amount of time it's as if it's impossible to lose weight. I'm thinking about taking weight loss meds(phentermine or Qysemia). Has any one taken these meds while taking  methimazole? Are they safe for people with hyperthyroidism?

0 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Michelle

I don't think you should be taking phentermine if your hyper!! I hear what you're saying and I know what it's like to have put on weight AND having graves so I know how you're feeling! You going to try block and replace or RAI - I've just had RAI after failed B&R and am getting back to normal (slowly!) but feel pretty good. I'm not a doctor but I think Phentermine would be bad for you!! Good luck n

• Posted

Hi Michelle,

As as a person who is going through exactly the same as you , as in hyper, been on steroids, and on carbimazole, feel like I'm qualified enough to say, as deeply upsetting as it is to be that much bigger than one used to or want and no amount of exercise or eating well seems to work, I don't think it's wise to start taking more tablets for weight loss, which affects metabolism (which is what thyroid affects). If you really want to at least consult doctor, but I'm interested in people's opinion, as any advice will be greatly received or update here how you get on?

• Posted

Hello Michele:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA. I have Hashimoto's since 1987, which is a form of Hypothyroidism but I know both sides well enough. 

I would so  DO NOT TAKE,  Phentermine or Qysemia as these meds can raise the heart rate and in Hyperthyroid (Graves) it can cause a cardiac arrest.

Steriods cause weight gain.  Once off of them, the weight will come off.  People with Hyperthyroidism should not exercise unless a doctor tells you to. Too much hormone bothers the heart.