What are the alternatives to using tamsulosin for BPH?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi,

I've been using this medication for several years now but also have had increasingly severe issues with lightheadedness, vertigo, and dizziness. This may well have nothing to do with the flomax, especially since I've recently been diagnosed (although a bit controversial I feel) with Meniere's disease. And many of my symptoms seem to be BPPV-related also, so quite frankly I don't know what's going on but certainly I can point to some lightheadedness going back to when  I started using flomax a few years ago. So, at one point my doctor described a surgical alternative to using meds, but I really don't recall much about it. I'm sure by now there are many such alternatives, and so that's why I'm here...to seek advice on what is out there that might allow me to stop using this medication. Thanks for any advice or thoughts. 

Regards,

Keith

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

There are other Alpha BLockers that might not have the side effects that Rapiflo does. Try Alfusozin - and there aer others.
  • Posted

Hi Keith,

had menieres and have used tamsulosin. Prescribed stematil for the menieres it works well. tamsulosin horrid stuff made me so ill i discontinued it. See your Gp there are other drugs available. Surgery can be out of the pan and in to the fire.

Take care & best wishes.

• Posted

I find your use of past tense...."had menieres" to be interesting. What are you implying? That you actually had it but not anymore? Also thanks for the advice to try a different medicine. I am definitely going to review that with my urologist!  
    • Posted