What to expect after hysterectomy??

Posted , 7 users are following.

I’m getting a hysterectomy in 2wks.

Not sure what to expect afterwards with regards to recovery etc. Hve a grapefruit sized degenerating fibroid and others behind it. Suffered extreme heavy periods and low iron levels last 12-18mths. Am 44 with 2 kids so happy enough to hve surgery to sort problem. Will get abdominal hysterectomy and hope to keep ovaries. Just not sure what to expect post op, all advice welcome!! I have gained weight (10lbs) and was a regular runner but with no energy I hvnt ran in months. When will I be able to exercise again? 

1 like, 24 replies

24 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I am new to this page. Just trying to find out more about fibroids I just found out I have them a week ago. All they told me was I had a lot inside my uterus and the largest being 5 cm.  They did mention hysterectomy to me . I have no health insurance right now so I don’t think this will be an option for me. Please keep us informed after yours smile and I wish you a speedy recovery 
  • Posted

I'm having one soon to due to fibroids. I'm also interested. 

• Posted

Am on the waiting list too as have fibroids had embolisation but did not work last September. Did you have to wait long to get it done? Know people that have had them done and say it’s the best thing to happen to them don’t think you feel right for 4-6 weeks and you need to take it easy x
    • Posted