When to have op

Posted , 14 users are following.

i am new to this page. I am 55 and have lost lot of movement in my hip. X-ray shows nothing to inject into. So op is next option. I walk with a limp 75 per cent of the time (friends tell me) pain level not too bad. The biggest prob is shoes and socks, unable to do these unaided! Driving manual car after a walk, getting discomfort, after 6000 step walk aching. I am wondering if I should just carry on until really painful, or have done. I feel relatively young to be needing this I feel. My excercise levels have decreased so gaining bit extra weight too. Still swim, walking etc. So my question is do I wait for real pain, or get done before while bit fitter? 

1 like, 24 replies

24 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hello! I'm 46 and was diagnosed with severe OA last September and he said the only option was THR. I was in total shock. All my pain was in thigh and I never even considered a bad hip. I thought I could wait until I was 50. I limped along for about 3 months then it got really bad really fast. I got a second opinion and scheduled my surgery for June. I had anterior RTHR a week ago and feel pretty good. My arthritis pain is totally gone, now it's just tender surgical pain. You will know when to start scheduling. The pain you have now will only get worse. Once you have the operation it will get better. Find a Dr and hospital that you trust and you will do great!

• Posted

I am a 56 year old male and thought I was doing okay. 

I knew my hip was not great and would need work. 

I put it off for too long and ended up with a bone cyst

laterally in the my hip socket. This required a

graft to repair. 

Now six weeks post op I can't imagine why I waited. 

The first week there was a bit of discomfort and inconvenience. 

But since then it's been steady progress every week. I'm back

at work, driving again and walking unaided. I can comfortably

sleep on my operative side and apart from some minor swelling