will i gain weight with venlafaxine need good advice

Posted , 40 users are following.

i have just been prescribed ven. but i am terrified of gaining weight as i have lost a lot of weight in the past i would appreciate your experiences regarding this topic thanks

2 likes, 63 replies

63 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

I've put on around 2 stone in a year of being on venlafaxine.  It is a horrible drug, try and avoid it if at all possible.  It's a nightmare to get off of and the side effects are unbelievable!!!! Trust me, I've been weaning myself down for a few months now and now I'm down to only 37.5mg but my head is thumping so bad, that and the brain zaps are just awful.
  • Posted

I have been on venlafaxine for some years but just for my hot flashes when I went though menapause and they kept up. I was taking just 35 mg and now do 150 mg.  I was blaming all my weight gain on getting steroid injections for my lower back and now I am thinking I have 2 things working against me. I have always kept myself in shape and exercised and ate right and have gained 25 LB over the past couple of years. I wonder if its both or moret he antidepressant .
  • Posted

Hi guest,I have been on venlafaxine for bout 6mths but am in the midst of going cold turkey coming off of them,anyway my weight always remained the same as before I took them so all I can say is take one step at a time,sort your problem first then sort your weight out after,its far better to be in a good state of mind first, does that make any sense to you?good luck and keep us all posted....
    • Posted

Hi, Thanks for that info and I should of known better and now am cut down to half the dose for a week and then going 1 every other day. The weight seemed so important and yet like you said it has to be done the right way.
  • Posted

Hi Leanne you are going to get through it,you just have to believe in your self...take care....
    • Posted