Worried about blood results

Posted , 8 users are following.

I have enjoyed a drink for a long time I don't smoke or take drugs never I have had bloods taken and panic about results esp as I have kids 17 and 11 well looked after and happy kids in good school and college I worry if it comes back I have a liver problem could my doctor call social services?

3 likes, 24 replies

24 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I can't see that happening at all, Paula, but I am no expert, so I hope someone will be able to tell you accurately if there is a risk the results could be passed on.

I hope it all works out for you, you sound to be a wonderful Mum.

Pat xx

• Posted

Thank you everyone says I am who knows me plus most mums enjoy a drink esp as a single mum it's a way to relax and thank you for commenting xx 😊
  • Posted

Okay, the first part of the answer is for you, only concern yourself with that one. The second is for completeness and does not apply to you.

A GP will not call SS because you like a few too many glasses of wine, even to the extent, in the unlikely event that it may show up in blood tests. He will be concerned for your helth and reducing your intake to safe levels.

Okay, ignore this bit it doesn't apply to you.

Your GP does have a duty of care if he thinks children are at risk. But this would be a last reesort and he would need to see some evidence of this and it is really down to neglect and abuse, although they could be caused by someone who neglected their children because of drugs or alcohol abuse (not enjoying a bottle of wine a night).

The GMC prdouce a number of leaflets on them, some very long, but there is a good short one. The easiest way to find it is to Google 'gp call social services' and the fourth one down is the GMC leaflet link, this is easier than trying to go on the GMC website to find it.

Paula, what are you doing reading this far, the first answer was for you?

• Posted