Horrible head pressure/ swaying feeling!!

Posted , 33 users are following.

Hi! First time posting on this so I'm hoping someone can relate/ offer any advice? 

I was was diagnosed with hypothyroidism 3 weeks ago after symptoms of extreme tiredness/ lack of energy, feeling low and this horrible head pressure/ tension on and off for weeks! 

I have been taking 50mg of Levothyroxine for 3 weeks once in the morning. I understand it can take a few weeks for symptoms to start to improve.. I was feeling a bit more like myself last week but feel like I've been bumped back down again this week and don't understand?! I'm an early years teacher and have been back at work for 2 weeks after 2 weeks off! So not ideal feeling like this when I need to be super energetic with 3, 4 and 5 year olds! 

The one thing that is really getting me down at the moment is this horrible pressure feeling (not a pain or headache) in my head!! It almost feels like I'm in a foggy bubble/ or walking on sponge!! From morning until I put my head down at night!! Sometimes I get myself into a panic with it and convince myself I'm going to faint!! 

Has anyone experienced this with hypothyroidism before?? Thanks in advance! 

1 like, 60 replies

60 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Yes i was also diagnosed about 4 weeks ago and feel so ill. Still on 50 mg but it’s not making much difference. Terrible head and blurred vision. Tired and very very depressed. Also weight has piled on. Hands badly swollen. Hair falling out and all nails broken. Ready for the hills. Does anyone know if following a gluten free diet would help me at all. I’m taking selenium supplements - just want to feel a bit normal.
    • Posted

Mary,

gluten free can help. But don’t expect to see quick results. As well, you may need a higher dose before things improve, so keep getting tested and share your results here for insightful advice.

• Posted

Hi Mary. Thanks for your reply and sorry to hear you're feeling just as rotten.