Lustral v Generic (Sertraline)

Posted , 11 users are following.

Was reading that Lustral costs £35 per box as opposed to the generic equivalent being £8 per box. Big difference in price, does anybody know if there's a difference with the product, ie; more pure, less side effects, works better?

1 like, 36 replies

36 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Anxious,

Are you in the U.S.? I've never had to think about the cost of medication, such a shame to have to consider that on top of everything else...

I was a nurse and can tell you that when we would give out meds from the drug trolley, they were never the same brand twice. The hospital would purchase whichever was cheapest at the time. Generic is no different to branded medications. Here in the UK, drug licensing laws are so strict that you couldn't sell an inferior product and call it Sertraline. I'd only ever doubt a product if I had to buy it off the internet. Go for the generic every time! All the best. X

• Posted

Hi again Jen, just reading your post again and realise you're also in the UK!! Sorry
    • Posted

Hi Jen, sorry but I have to disagree with you in the strongest way possible.  I speak from experience, believe me.  Many many people have suffered greatly from certain, not all, generic versions of Sertraline - I only know about Sertraline, I cannot speak for other medication.  Please take a read of this discussion https://patient.info/forums/discuss/generics-can-they-make-you-feel-this-bad--28893

IT's really not as simple and straighforward as you think, believe me.

• Posted

Just noticed you're using £.  I guess you're in the UK after all...
    • Posted

Hi Jen, didn't mean to mislead you. Here in the UK we don't need to worry about the price as it all comes under one prescription charge and is free for older ones.